Creating the Extraordinary Student Experience

  • NIRSA Basketball Championships NIRSA Basketball Championships


2017 NIRSA Basketball Championships



NIRSA: Leaders in Collegiate Recreation

NIRSA is comprised of and supports leaders in collegiate recreation. As college and university students develop into future leaders, NIRSA members support their learning and growth by fostering life-long habits of wellbeing: Leadership, teamwork, dedication and respect are among the many skills exercised by inclusive competition, fitness and recreation. Since its founding in 1950, NIRSA membership has grown to nearly 4,500 dedicated professionals, students and businesses, serving an estimated 8.1 million students.

NIRSA believes that collegiate recreation is a significant and powerful key to inspiring wellness in local, regional and global communities. Our vision is nothing short of becoming the premier association of leaders in collegiate recreation worldwide. We believe this is attainable through our network of passionate professional and student members who inspire their communities and build upon each other’s knowledge. Our network of passionate professional and student members drive the association through volunteer leadership and is supported by the staff team at NIRSA Headquarters, based in Corvallis, Oregon.

NIRSA Championship Series

The NIRSA Championship Series gives college recreational sports participants an opportunity to compete, coordinate, officiate and connect with skilled peers from other schools and take all the benefits of recreational competition to a higher level. And it’s more than just competition; the NIRSA Championship Series is also a platform for professional development, as up-and-coming professionals build skills and engage in all levels of learning through their programming, staff, official and volunteer positions. The passion of these leaders drives the exceptional execution of our professionally organized tournaments, which propels the experiences and growth opportunities for participants.

The rich environment of inclusive competition, sportsmanship and professional development from participants to fans to volunteers supports communities of health and wellness, which is what NIRSA is all about. The NIRSA Championship Series is offered under the direction of the NIRSA Services Corporation.


April 21-23, 2017
Tournament Information:

Join us in Columbus, Ohio for the 2017 NIRSA National Basketball Championships. The Ohio State University is excited to once again host the top competition from across the nation, qualified student officials from different institutions, premier collegiate recreation professionals and special guests. Please see the Tournament Information document for more information.

This tournament is open teams from any two or four year degree granting college or university or military installations. It is not restricted to regional tournament champions or league champions and may have more than one team from the same institution. You may review the NIRSA Player and Team Eligibility Guidelines here. This tournament is not restricted to regional tournament champions, league champions or limited to a certain number of teams from any one school. It is open to junior colleges, community colleges, four year universities.

All teams should design travel plans on arriving in Columbus, Ohio for games starting at 4 p.m. on Friday, April 21, 2017.

View the Visiting Team Guide Here. 


Register for the 2017 NIRSA National Basketball Championships through IMLeagues


Team Registration Dates:

Opens: Monday, January 9, 2017

Closes: Monday, April 10, 2017


Divisions Offered:

Women's Intramural

Men’s Intramural

Women’s Club

Men's Club

Unified League (In Conjunction with Special Olympics North America)


Team Registration Fee(s):

Teams that participate in a NIRSA Regional: $375

Teams that do not participate in a NIRSA Regional: $450


Tournament Director:

Jarrode Davis, The Ohio State University



Directors of Officials Development:

Shane Land, University of Central Florida

John Washo, DePaul University


Directors of Competition:

Brooke Turner, University of Alabama

Keegan Ashbee, University of Florida


Director of All-Tournament Selection Committee:

Antonio Gonzalez, Florida State University


Tournament Format:

Games will be played under NFHS rules, with the exception of timing. This will be a 3 or 4 team pool play tournament with the top 2 (from a 3-team pool) or three (from a 4-team pool) teams out of each pool advancing to the single elimination playoff bracket to ensure each team receives 2 pool play games.